Allo' Expat Mauritius - Connecting Expats in Mauritius  
Allo' Expat Mauritius Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter
Check our Rates
   Information Center Mauritius
Mauritius General Information
History of Mauritius
Mauritius Culture
Mauritius Cuisine
Mauritius Geography
Mauritius Population
Mauritius Government
Mauritius Economy
Mauritius Communications
Mauritius Transportations
Mauritius Military
Mauritius Transnational Issues
Mauritius Healthcare
Mauritius People, Language & Religion
Mauritius Expatriates Handbook
Mauritius and Foreign Government
Mauritius General Listings
Mauritius Useful Tips
Mauritius Education & Medical
Mauritius Travel & Tourism Info
Mauritius Lifestyle & Leisure
Mauritius Business Matters
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

Mauritius Government


Politics in Mauritius takes place in a framework of a parliamentary representative democratic republic, in which the President of Mauritius is the head of state and the prime minister is the head of government who is assisted by the Council of Ministers. Mauritius has a multi-party system.

Executive power is exercised by the government. The prime minister is appointed by the president and is responsible to the National Assembly. The Council of Ministers is appointed by the president on the recommendation of the prime minister. The Council of Ministers (cabinet), responsible for the direction and control of the government, consists of the prime minister (head of government), the leader of the majority party in the legislature, and about 24 ministries.

The executive branch being with the cabinet have four most powerful offices – prime minister, deputy prime minister and two offices of vice prime ministers. They have the absolute power and authority over the cabinet and also help the prime minister in his tasks and responsibilities.

The president and vice president are elected by the National Assembly for five-year terms. They form part along with the Speaker of the National Assembly, the legislative offices which under the constitution have the last decision and word to themselves. Most of the work are already done by the executive branch which consists of the Council of Ministers, Leader of the Opposition and also other members of the parliament.

Mauritian law is an amalgam of French and British legal traditions. The Supreme Court – a chief justice and five other judges – is the highest local judicial authority. There is an additional higher right of appeal to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council. Members of the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council have been located in Mauritius since the end of 2008, as part of a plan to lower the costs of appeal.


Country name :
conventional long form: Republic of Mauritius
conventional short form: Mauritius
local long form: Republic of Mauritius
local short form: Mauritius

Government type :
parliamentary democracy

Capital :
name: Port Louis
geographic coordinates: 20 09 S, 57 29 E
time difference: UTC+4 (9 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)

Administrative divisions :
9 districts and 3 dependencies*; Agalega Islands*, Black River, Cargados Carajos Shoals*, Flacq, Grand Port, Moka, Pamplemousses, Plaines Wilhems, Port Louis, Riviere du Rempart, Rodrigues*, Savanne

Independence :
12 March 1968 (from the UK)

National holiday :
Independence Day, 12 March (1968)

Constitution :
12 March 1968; amended 12 March 1992

See more information on the next page... (next)




copyrights ©
2015 | Policy